Massage Therapy

The Massage Therapy Program is designed to prepare students for employment as a Florida state licensed massage therapist (LMT). After completion of the program, graduates are eligible to take an approved National Examination for Florida state licensure.

The content includes, but is not limited to, theory and practice of massage therapy, human anatomy and physiology, kinesiology, theory and practice of hydrotherapy, Florida laws and rules, hygiene, practical demonstrations, leadership and human relations skills, health and safety, CPR and employability skills. Colonic Irrigation is optional as an LMT but will NOT be taught at this school.
Reinforcement of basic skills in English, Mathematics, Science and appropriate research and computer technologies for job preparatory occurs through vocational classroom instruction and applied laboratory procedures or practice.
The following table indicates the PSAV program structure: (Program # H120405)
OCP
Course Number
Course Title
Course Length
A
HSC0003
Basic Healthcare Worker
90 hours
B
MSS0205
Massage Therapy (1 of 2)
360 hours
B
MSS0206
Massage Therapy (2 of 2)
300 hours
 

This program meets the Department of Health HIV/AIDS education requirements. Upon completion of that course, the student will be provided a certificate verifying that those requirements have been met.

Requirements to register for the Massage Therapy Program:
1. (a) Must be at least 18 years old
    (b) Proof of high school diploma, GED or college degree
    (c) Take Test of Adult Basic Education (TABE) test
                 - in accordance with Rule 6A-10.040 FAC the minimum basic skills grade level required for this post secondary adult vocational (PSAV) program is:
                        - reading - 10.0 A level
                        - language - 10.0 A level
                        - math - 9.0 A or D level
2. Complete the entire school admission application and the following documents:
- criminal history & background questionnaire:
- applicant’s personal history may affect his/her ability to receive state license
            - typed written answers of entrance essay questions.
            - financial aid requirements.
3. Attend a personal interview process with the selection committee prior to being accepted to the program. The applicant will receive more information about the program and have an opportunity to ask questions at this time. (interview dates are pending)

4. All Massage Therapy Program applicants will be notified by letter of acceptance or non-acceptance into the course a minimum of 30 days prior to the start date.
- Please DO NOT call and ask if the letters have been sent yet or to inquire if you were or why you were NOT selected for the program.
            - The exact dates for beginning and ending of the program will be included in your
acceptance letter.
Additional Information:
(a) The Massage Therapy Program generally starts in August of each year and will complete in April of that same school year. (subject to change)
- Classroom hours are 07:30am to 02:00pm Monday – Thursday
- The Massage Therapy Program is 750 total clock hours
- Student are required to maintain minimum 77% passing grade on all subjects
(b) Massage Therapy students are allowed to be absent for only 24 classroom hours during their entire course of study. A minimum of 726 hours are required on the official transcript for graduation from the massage therapy program.
- There are no excused absences from the hourly count.

 (c) This course is a Florida state licensure program of study in Massage Therapy and operates under the rules and regulations of the state of Florida Department of Education, Department of Health and Board of Massage Therapy.

(d) A maximum of 25 students will be selected to begin the Massage Therapy Program each year.

The following links will provide more information, as well as the application for both Haney and the Massage Therapy Program.

NOTE: The links open in a new window. Some of the links open an Adobe .pdf file. Get the latest version of Adobe Reader.

Massage Therapy Questionnaire/Information sheet
Requirements for registration
State of Florida Criminal History Questionnaire Requesting Criminal History from FDLE

Download Massage Packet (.pdf file)